If You’re Wondering

If a bedroom can be painted in a toddler’s naptime.  The answer is yes!  After Cupcake slept in (only because she stayed up 2 hours past her bedtime the night before at the babysitter’s house) we rushed off to her last tumble bunnies class until the fall.  I decided it was best to take the summer off since we usually have a lot going on.  It kind of breaks my heart that we won’t go next week because she absolutely LOVES her gymnastics class!  But we’ll do fun things in it’s place!  After class we headed over to the mall with some friends.  We had a $20 off a $40 purchase coupon to use at Old Navy!  My intent was to buy some new maternity jeans since the ones from my pregnancy with her are WAY too big and I don’t anticipate my thighs growing enough to fit them.  (I started this pregnancy 2 sizes smaller!)  Yeah, I didn’t find any pants for myself.  But I found a few cute things for Cupcake and a few cute things for baby #2 (if it’s a boy).  I did get myself a pair of gaucho pants, though.  Because that’s what every short girl needs to wear.  After we shopped it was off to the play area to let the kids burn off more energy.  And I wasn’t in a hurry to get home because the hubs might have been sleeping (he’s working 3rd shift these days).  Cupcake insisted on wearing the new slippers I bought at Old Navy even though they are two sizes to big.  I took a picture of her on my phone sliding off the back end of the play car (which she did about 20 times), but I don’t know how to get it off my phone and on here, so here’s the link.  After playtime it was back home for nap time!

I was pleasantly surprised to find that hubby had cleaned out the office earlier in the day.  I vacuumed. And I painted. I started by cutting in.  Here you can see a corner and around the closet door.

I checked the time and saw that I had at least 45 minutes before naptime was over, so I thought I’d get rolling.

I was actually surprised at how quickly this went.  This is the only room in the house I haven’t painted already since we moved in over 7 years ago.  40 minutes later I had blue walls!  The blue walls really made the beige trim look pink!  Ewww!!  Don’t worry.  The trim will get painted, too.

I did some cleaning up.  Had a snack. And cleared out my Google Reader while I waited for Cupcake to wake up from her nap.  Post nap we made a trip to the grocery store.  And in a very uncharacteristic manner we returned home and ate processed food for dinner.

I don’t typically serve chicken nuggets in this house.  I don’t typically have chicken nuggets in the house.  But hubs is working 3rd shift, I hadn’t really planned dinner, and a friend of mine recently moved and brought me all her frozen food before she left.  The chicken nuggets were in that stash.  Cupcake immediately dived into the sweet potato fries, but as soon as I offered her a chicken nugget the screaming ensued, the plate was pushed away and she was done eating!  Apparently I won’t be serving chicken nuggets again!

In her raging state Cupcake demanded that we go outside after dinner.  It wasn’t even 50 degrees out there.  Nope, no outside play!

How about we play with your new slippers?  Yep, those are fun!

We played with our flash cards.  First we went through the letters and pictures.  Then we drove over them with cars.

We moved on to blocks.  She only wanted to play with the m block.  Her favorite picture is that of a mouse.

Soon it was time to head upstairs to get ready for bed.  We had to head up a little early because this was waiting for me.

Unfortunately for me the laundry hadn’t put itself away, yet.  And there wasn’t a night time diaper ready for me.  So I put diapers away first.  And then I started working on the clothes.  Cupcake loves when I put laundry away.  She can hardly wait for me to empty the basket………….so she can get in it.

With a sleeping toddler it was back to the office/guest room for me.  A second coat of paint, rocking out to the CAKE station on Pandora, and hoping the neighbors aren’t watching me  through the big window that has the blinds up so I don’t accidentally paint them.

And then the worst part…….

Cleaning up……but I treated myself with some ice cream when I was done.  And a blog post. And now I am off to read some Catching Fire and sleep.

Leave a comment